I love this. This article has forced me to reflect on my philosophy of teaching and understanding of children.
What is in your philosophy? What do you think children need?
What do families need? What do you need?

Growing Children

When I was an infant/toddler teacher, December was a time for reflecting over the past year and thinking about how to improve the experiences in my classroom, as well as myself professionally. I looked closely at what was happening in my room, school and community. I thought about the children and families I served, and how I could best support them. I would read books and articles, discuss and debate with my fellow teachers and just listen to the babies and families around me.

One book that I often returned to was The Irreducible Needs of Children: What Every Child Must Have to Grow, Learn, And Flourish by T. Berry Brazelton, MD and Stanley Greenspan, MD.   Though the book is more than ten years old and new research and knowledge is available, the “irreducible needs” that Brazelton and Greenspan discuss haven’t changed.  According to Brazelton and Greenspan, children have:

  1. The…

View original post 282 more words

Leave a Reply

